Whole Foods Diet Experiment

To heal my gall bladder and prevent surgery, I just switched from a very healthy no-meat diet to an even-healthier no-meat diet without fish, eggs, dairy products, fried foods, or processed foods. Oh yes, and also no caffeine or alcohol.

I am avoiding all the things that were triggering attacks (Chinese food, iced tea, eggs, tuna, salmon) and while I’m at it, avoiding the things I’m allergic to (dairy products) since some experts suggest gall bladder attacks are mostly a result of allergic reactions.

While this may appear to be a terribly “restrictive” diet, it doesn’t seem that way to me. It seems quite rational – like the way I was meant to eat.

After about 10 days I feel much less hungry – surprisingly. I would have thought a vegan diet would make me more hungry.

I wonder if I was chronically hungry in the past because I was hungry for the nutrients I was not receiving.

Eating used to be almost annoying; I’d eat simply to make my hunger go away. Now I’m eating to give my body what it needs, and am surprised to notice that food tastes better, more satisfying. I seem to be waking up to the deliciousness of simple things: apples, Clementines, even broccoli.

I’m not sure if this will heal my gall bladder but it’s an interesting experiment!

Also I have no cravings (so far) for anything except what I’m thinking of as whole foods.

A colleague told me that there are many things people ingest that “the body does not recognize as food.” That rang true.

I’m determined to only put things in my mouth that my body will not only recognize as food, but welcome.

I’d be interested in others’ experiences, experiments, or responses.

Mariah Burton Nelson
American Association for Physical Activity and Recreation MNelson@aahperd.org

Technorati tags:
, , , ,

Explore posts in the same categories: About Mariah Burton Nelson, Diets, Habits, Nutrition, Physical Intelligence

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Whole Foods Diet Experiment”


  1. I, too, tried to heal my gallbladder non-surgically. I logged what I ate each day and looked for a correlation to the attacks, which were sometimes as frequently as two times a week. I saw a correlation when I ate fried foods, so cut it out, and also if I had a big meal with more fats than usual. I saw that I was not eating well, so called my attacks my friend as they motivated me to get back to healthy eating.

    After 5 years of attacks, I had one long, very low level attack. Then I didn’t have another for over a year. Now I get them a few times a year, but I can’t see any correlation in the foods. So I don’t have a clear picture of the causes.

    So I’ll be interested how your experiment works.


Leave a Reply

